Brighton Hove and Sussex Sixth Form College (BHASVIC) is an independent Corporation formed under the Further and Higher Education Act 1992.

The Instrument and Articles of Government set out the Corporation’s powers, membership, roles and responsibilities which is supplemented by various other documentation including the financial memorandum, the Audit Code of Practice and law relating to equality and diversity and health and safety.

The College is funded predominantly by the Education and Skills Funding Agency (ESFA).

The Members of the Corporation comprise individuals from business, local community, staff, students and parents. The College Principal is an ex-officio Member.

On this site you will find information about the Governors and the work of the Governing Body, including details of Corporation and Committee meetings and other key Governance documentation.

Expressions of interest in becoming a Governor of the College are always welcome and in the first instance, please contact the Clerk to the Corporation, Louise Pennington:

Lucy Aditi - Governor (Teaching Staff)

William Baldwin - Principal and Governor, Member of Finance and General Purposes (and Premises Group), Human Resources, Quality and Curriculum and Search Committees.

Mike Bewlock - Member of the Audit Committee

Sarah Bovill - Member of the Audit Committee

Jo Davies - Member of the Finance & General Purpose Committee

Peter Freeman - Chair of Corporation and Governance and Remuneration Committees and Premises Group, Member of Finance and General Purposes, Human Resources and Quality and Curriculum Committees.

Elena Gualtieri - Governor, member of the Quality & Curriculum Committee

Christian Heeger - Governor, Member of the Audit Committee 

Keir Hobby - Governor(Student), Member of Quality and Curriculum Committee

Picture to follow

Veronica Jinks - Governor (Parent), Member of HR Committee

Neil Jones - Member (Teaching Staff) of Human Resources Committee

Howard Kidd - Governor, Chair of Finance and General Purposes Committee, Member of Governance, Remuneration and Search Committees and Premises Group 

Lynn O'Meara - Governor, Member of Quality and Curriculum Committee 

Sarah Nield - Governor (Parent), Member of the Quality and Curriculum Committee 

Neil Perry - Governor and Chair of Human Resources Committee, Member of Governance and Remuneration Committees 

Sandra Prail - Vice Chair of Corporation, Member of Governance, Human Resources, Remuneration and Search Committees 

Jacquie Punter - Member (Teaching Staff) of Quality and Curriculum Committee 

Jo Redfern - Governor, Member of Quality and Curriculum Committee 

Anthony Rogers - Member (Teaching Staff) of Finance and General Purposes Committee 

Samantha Smith - Member of the Human Resources Committee 

Sue Smith - Governor (Support Staff), Member of Audit and Human Resources Committees 

Mark Snape - Member of Finance and General Purposes Committee and Premises Group 

For further information about the Corporation or becoming a Governor, please contact:

Louise Pennington
Clerk to the Corporation
205 Dyke Road
East Sussex

E -mail:
Telephone: 01273 552200

Non-confidential Corporation and Committee meeting papers are not included on this web-site but are available to be viewed by contacting the Clerk to the Corporation.

Department for Children, Schools and Families

Young People’s Learning Agency (YPLA)


Brighton and Hove 14-19 Partnership Board for information on local co-operating and plans for implementing the 14-19 agenda.

Association of Colleges